## FOREWORD

(This Foreword is not part of American National Standard A117.1-1998.)

The 1961 edition of ANSI Standard A117.1 presented the first criteria for accessibility to be approved as an American National Standard and was the result of research conducted by the University of Illinois under a grant from the Easter Seal Research Foundation. The National Easter Seal Society and the President's Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities became members of the Secretariat and the Standard was reaffirmed in 1971.

In 1974, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development joined the Secretariat and sponsored needed research, which resulted in the 1980 edition. After further revision that included a special effort to remove application criteria (scoping requirements), the 1986 edition was published and, when requested in 1987, the Council of American Building Officials (CABO) assumed the Secretariat. Central to the intent of the change in the Secretariat was the development of a standard that, when adopted as part of a building code, would be compatible with the building code and its enforcement. This edition has largely achieved that goal. In 1998, CABO became the International Code Council (ICC).

This edition has been substantially reformatted. Illustrative figures are located adjacent to corresponding text to simplify the use of the Standard. Unless specified otherwise, figures are not part of the Standard. Should a figure appear to illustrate criteria that differ with the text of the Standard, the criteria stated in the text govern.

Suggestions for improving this edition will be welcome. They should be sent to ICC, Secretariat, ANSI A117 Committee, Suite 708, 5203 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22041.

This Standard was processed and approved for submittal to ANSI by the Accredited Standards Committee on Architectural Features and Site Design of Public Buildings and Residential Structures for Persons with Handicaps (A117). Committee approval of the Standard does not necessarily imply that all Committee members voted for its approval. At the time it approved this Standard, the A117 Committee had the following members:

Chair	Kenneth M. Schoonover, PE (BOCA)
Vice Chair	Soy Williams, AIA (PVA)

Organizational Member	Representative
Accessibility Equipment Manufacturers Association	Patrick Bass
American Bankers Association	Nessa Feddis
American Council of the Blind	Julie Carroll Patricia Beattie (Alt)
American Foundation for the Blind	Elga Joffee Scott Marshall (Alt) Alan Dinsmore (Alt)
American Hotel and Motel Association	Robert Elliott
American Institute of Architects	Marvin J. Cantor, FAIA Scott Fazekas, AIA, CBO (Alt)
American Occupational Therapy Association	Mary Shaheen, OTR/L Anne Long Morris, EdD, OTR/L (Alt)
American Society of Interior Designers	Wm. L. Wilkoff, FASID, IIDA Barbara J. Huelat, ASID (Alt)
American Society of Plumbing Engineers	Robert Evans, Jr., CIPE Peter J. Johnson, CIPE (Alt)
American Society of Safety Engineers	William Marletta David A. de Vries (Alt)

Association for Safe and Accessible Products	
Awards and Recognition Association	Kathy Wilson William Townsend (Alt)
Bell Communications Research, Inc	William G. Keenan
Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association, Inc	Dave Gilda Richard Hudnut (Alt)
Building Officials and Code Administrators Intl, Inc	Kenneth M. Schoonover, PE Michael Pfeiffer, PE (Alt)
Building Owners and Managers Association Intl	Lawrence G. Perry, AIA James C. Dinegar (Alt)
Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund	Marilyn Golden Logan Hopper (Alt)
International Code Council	Shahriar Amiri
International Conference of Building Officials	William D. Wall, PE Rick Okawa, PE (Alt)
International Sign Association	Teresa Cox Bob Wallace (Alt) Sharon Toji (Alt)
Little People of America, Inc.	Angela Van Etten, J.D.
National Apartment Association	Ronald G. Nickson
National Association of Home Builders	Ron Burton (Alt)
National Association of the Deaf	Don Sievers Nancy J. Bloch (Alt)
National Conference of States on Building Codes and Standards	William E. O'Neil
National Electrical Manufacturers Association	
National Elevator Industry, Inc	
	Ralph Droste (Alt) George Kappenhagen (Alt)
National Federation of the Blind	James Gashel Dr. Harold Snider (Alt)
National Fire Protection Association	Ron Coté, PE
National Institute for Tall People	
Paralyzed Veterans of America	Soy Williams (Alt)
Plumbing Manufacturers Institute	Jack Lancaster Richard W. Church (Alt)
President's Committee of Employment of People with Disabilities	Maggia Boffag
	Ellen D. Daly (Alt)
Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, Inc	Jack O'Keeffe
Society for Environmental Graphic Design	Kenneth A. Ethridge, Jr., AIA
Southern Building Code Congress	
United Cerebral Palsy Associations	Richard Vognild, PE, CBO (Alt) Robert Dale Lynch, FAIA
	Michael Morris (Alt)
US Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board	Marsha K. Mazz Scott Windley (Alt)
US Department of Agriculture	
US Department of Housing and	
Urban Development	Nelson A. Carbonell Cheryl D. Kent (Alt) Alan Rothman (Alt)
US Department of Veterans Affairs	

World Institute on Disability ..... Hale Zukas

**Individual Members** 

Brian D. Black Patrick J. Higgins Jake L. Pauls

Special recognition is provided to the following individuals who also contributed as members of the committee during this review cycle:

Richard Hudnut (Chair 1987–1997) Frank Bosak (Vice-Chair 1987–1997) John P. S. Salmen